Liverpool 1892 to 1986

Liverpool: A Complete Record 1986 (and then 1988 and 1990). On Saturday, 10 May 1986, Liverpool Football Club were crowned as the ultimate kings of English soccer. Victory over their Merseyside rivals, Everton, in a splendid Wembley Final gave the Anfield club the coveted double of League Championship and FA Cup.

For 13 years, Liverpool have been the most consistently successful club in the game with an amazing nine League titles in that time, taking their overall tally of Championships to a record 16. Add to that four consecutive League (Milk) Cup Final victories, four European Cup Final wins, two UEFA Cup Final triumphs, and two FA Cup Final wins including that one that gave them the 1986 double, and you have the most successful club in English soccer history.

Now football historian and statistician, and lifelong Liverpool fan, Brian Pead has amassed the complete record of the Liverpool club from its first season in the Lancashire League in 1892-93 – when, not surprisingly, they won a league and cup double – right up to that memorable Wembley Final.
The result is the most comprehensive and fascinating account of Liverpool FC’s long story, with the results, dates, teams, scorers (even the times of most of the goals) and attendances of every competitive Liverpool match, including wartime games.

There is a history of the club and of its Anfield stadium, an illustrated A-Z Gallery of some 150 Reds stars down the years, biographies of every manager, Memorable Matches recalled, career records of every player, and a host of other facts and statistics as well as around 200 photographs, many of them rare early action pictures.

Liverpool A Complete Record 1892-1986 is a must for Liverpool fans in particular and football fans in general.

Liverpool 1892 to 1986 by Brian Pead
  • ISBN: 978-0907969150
  • Author: Brian Pead
  • Availability: Currently out of print
  • Front cover: Billy Liddell Kenny Daiglish with the Canon League trophy; Liverpool’s double-winning side with the FA Cup.