Liverpool Champions of Champions

Over the last 20 years, Liverpool Football Club have been the most consistently successful club in British soccer, taking their overall tally of Football League Championships to a record 18. Now Liverpool expert Brian Pead has charted every one of those Championship-winning seasons, from the first successes in the early part of the 20th century, when men like legendary goalkeeper Sam Hardy were Anfield heroes, through the 1920s with Elisha Scott, Eph Longworth, Tommy Bromilow and company, to the first post-war season of 1946-7 when Billy Liddell and his teammates were establishing themselves.

Then came the dawn of the Shankly era and Roger Hunt, Ian St John, Tommy Smith and Ian Callaghan. Thereafter, Liverpool practically made the First Division title their own property as new giants came – Kevin Keegan, Emlyn Hughes, Kenny Dalglish, Ray Clemence, Phil Neal, Bruce Grobbelaar, John Barnes and the rest of those household names.

This book gives a match report for every single one of those Championship seasons, from 1900-01 to 1989-90, together with full statistics – line-ups, attendances etc – set in the context of the day it was played.

Profusely illustrated, Liverpool: Champions of Champions is a truly unique account of the glorious record-breaking history of a great club.

Liverpool Champions of Champions
  • ISBN: 978-0907969747
  • Author: Brian Pead
  • Foreword by Bob Paisley
  • Availability: Currently out of print
  • Front cover shows John Barnes and Peter Beardsley with the Championship trophy in 1990; Bill Shankly and Kevin Keegan salute the Kop; Kenny Dalglish with both trophies after the Reds’ League and FA Cup double in 1986; Liverpool’s first Championship-winning side of 1900-01.